. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Example of the finest example

I am marginally efficient this week. Congratulate me!

Today is December 1, 2000. I have bought holiday gifts for about half the people on my list. Over the weekend, I will evaluate my address situation and decide how many cards to I need to send out; I will count the number of cards I have, because although I have not actually sent cards these past few years, I have purchased cards each year with the intent of sending them. And isn't it the thought that counts?

Today I called and made the only doctor's appointment I have for the next week; then I went and got a crabcake for lunch. I also got a palmier and a pecan bar, and I ate both of them.

I can't express how much I love palmiers; they are, by far, my favorite cookie in the whole world. There's nothing extraneous in a palmier: just butter and flour flattened into a symphony of pastry layers--millefeulle--coated with crunchy sugar and baked to perfection. It's like a croissant, except that it's a cookie.

I don't think I'll ever eat two cookies at one sitting again... well, never is a long time. I enjoyed those cookies, and I don't feel bad about eating them. I think this is an indication that I've kind of acknowledged that it's OK for me to eat sweets now. I have a functioning pancreas; I'm allowed.

Took long enough, don't you think?

Anyway, I reinstalled the drivers for the scanner, and I'm going to scan something for Squib. I managed to put an application on my Visor, and I'm actually using the thing to keep track of my life. I've only had it since March, but it seems to be coming in handy. I haven't called UPS to come pick up my suitcase that needs to go back to Eagle Creek, and the computer I bought last summer, that's now hopelessly outmoded but has never actually worked... OK, I have to call and get a new Fix It number on that. Maybe I'll call UPS next week.

There, OK. I've procrastinated something. I feel like myself again. Whew.

2000-12-01, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.