. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Doldrums

When I get up early then go back to bed, I have the most intersting dreams.

Today I got up around 7, ate some watermelon, took a bunch of meds and then went back to sleep. The stuff I take for my blood pressure makes me sleepy. I found myself dreaming of a trip to Toronto with my mom. We were staying with friends of mine who live in a cool building near the water in real life, but in my dream they lived in the suburban version of a palatial home; it featured horrifying things like wall to wall carpeting and very brightly lit bathrooms. I remember walking into their bedroom and it seemed not to belong with the rest of the house.

In the dream, I separated from my mom so I could do some shopping. I was looking for an evening gown, and I remember thinking I might find a bargain because it was prom season. I walked past a rack of gowns that seemed to be made out of tinsel and into a huge room filled with junk. It was some kind of warehouse, and I thought it might be a good place to find a gift for my hosts.

I walked around and picked through the junk, finally deciding on a blow-up Underdog doll as the right gift. I got the attendent to retrive the doll from its perch, then I realized that I had left my backpack somewhere, but I wasn't sure where. I walked back to where I had started in the warehouse and found a blue sweater with an Arizona driver's license and a student ID from the University of Arizona in the pocket, but I did not find my pack.

The attendent decided to let me have Underdog, anyway, and I returned to my friends. I was very disturbed by the loss of the pack, and as I travelled back to the 'burbs, I thought about its contents. Mostly I was struck by the fact that I'd have to buy a new phone.

Losing my purse in a large city where I am visiting has been a recurring theme in my dreams, this one just seemed more surreal than others.

~~~~~

We have come to the part of the summer where it's just plain hot. All day, every day. This condition will persist until Labor Day at the very least. I'm trying to make myself get something done today, but motivation is not happening today.

2000-06-26, 14:07:56 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.