. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Hecate and the Dime Bag

I know you nice people are just itching for another story about my cats, so here you go.

A while back, the catnip at the Capital Cat Clinic, where I take my cats when they need fixin', was recommended to me. Fedward's cats liked the nip, and Lola is fonder of nip than either Jester or Cosmo. This, I thought, was a no-brainer. The last time we were out there for a haircut and a chest x-ray, I picked up some nip for the bargain price of $2.

Surprise surprise, my girls were not impressed. Lola was especially nonplussed, which disturbed me. Here's how much she likes catnip: every time Rob comes to visit, Lola sits at his feet and looks up at him with her cutest possible expression; see, Rob is the one who gets the nip out. He's the catnip pusher, and she demonstrates full junkie behavior just this side of trackmarks. She associates a visit from Rob with a dip into the catnip jar.

Apparently nip that I supply just isn't as much fun, that is, until last night.

Hecate was climbing around on a table in the living room, and she knocked something down, something that she chased, then pushed all over the room.

I figured she had some plastic thing that came wrapped around whatever, but when Hecate's plaything started to smell, I realized that she'd been tossing the bag of catnip.

Since she has no claws, I figured that she couldn't do any real damage to the bag and I failed to take it away from her. Do I need to tell you how wrong I was? To make a long story short, my living room is now carpeted in catnip, but my girls are very happy.

They have spent most of the last two days sleeping. Hecate is curled up on my bed, while Lola prefers her basket. (Hecate has a basket as well, but she doesn't like it.) Every so often, one of them walks into the living room, rolls around on the floor and ends up behind the big armchair, where the 'nip is most concentrated.

Lola looks sort of cute and guilty before laying down in a pile of nip; Hecate stumbles a little bit and then wanders off to sleep in a soft place.

In any case, I suppose Jester and Cosmo were right. The CCC is good stuff.

2001-05-31, 8:19 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.