. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Don't get me started

I've seen a few other people mention their biggest pet peeves on the 'net today, so here's mine.

"Definately."

Shudder. "Finate" is not a word I'm familiar with, and believe me, I've looked for it. "Finite" is a perfectly good word and has all kinds of derivatives, like "infinite" and "definite."

I know that there are very smart people who can't spell at all. The tip-off to this was when I was dating and actual rocket scientist who couldn't manage "definitely." It drove me nuts; he and I are no longer together, but that's not why.

Now, I don't write formally in this diary; this does not mean that I don't know how to write formally. I just think that people should realize how their writing style represents them online. "Definately" makes you look stupid and careless.

OK?

As I said, don't get me started.

2000-08-19, 16:36:30 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.