. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Dad says...

Ask me why I'm still awake. G'wan; ask.

OK. I don't know.

I was thinking about things my father has told me over the years. He's a crackpot and a drunk, and he has very little clue how to go about a normal life, but sometimes he has good advice. I remember a couple of bits...

"Whatever you do to one side of an equation, you do to the other." He was talking about Algebra when I was in junior high, but I think that applies to life, as well. Balance, it's the key to everything.

"You are not allowed to leave Texas without a Willie Nelson album." This was right before I ran off to Virginia to start college. He made sure that among my Duran Duran, Cars and Talking Heads records, I had a copy of Stardust. I didn't appreciate that until years later. He's right, of course. If you don't have a favorite Willie Nelson album, you may want to have your citizenship checked. There's something quintessentially American about his music.

"Don't be afraid to stand out." I do not remember the context on this one, but it's good advice.

There may be others, but it's late and I'm going to get some sleep.

2000-08-20, 04:12:12 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.