. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

I'm not happy 'cause I'm not happy

I think I'm bureaucratically screwed.

You see, I closed a credit card account several months ago because of high interest rates and paid the balance in full. I received a receipt for my payment and considered the matter closed, done-with, and promptly went about the business of being extremely sick for the rest of 2000.

Today I got a letter from the issuing bank saying that they were referring my account to collections. Huh? Obviously I can't get anybody on the phone today, because it's Saturday, but I think there's been a mistake. The amount they say I owe is the exact amount I paid last year. I can probably get a record of the check from my bank, but it'll cost me. (I don't get cancelled checks back, and no, I didn't make a note of the check number.)

They also say that they closed the account due to non-payment, which isn't true. I was current on my payments when I closed the account. When you add this to the hassle I had yesterday with the pharmacy regarding a refill that I wanted too soon according to them, it hasn't been a good weekend.

Seriously. The dosage on this particular medication changes practically every time I have bloodwork done. Right now I'm on a dose that has me running out in exactly 30 days, which means I have to can't get my refills before I run out of pills, which doesn't sound good to me. (This is not a fun pill; it's the one that makes me shake, but it permits me to keep my new organs, so I take it.)

I suppose the moral of the story is that you can dress CVS up to look like a real pharmacy, but you can't make it work like one. Oh, and never trust banks to do anything right.

2001-02-10, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.