. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Man, I feel like a moron

Scattershooting while wondering how long it's going to be before Fedward updates.

Yesterday's hypoglycemic morning cost me $85 US. Here's how: I got out of my bed some time around 7 a.m., which was after the alarm went off. The first thing I remember is standing in front of the computer wondering how I got myself drenched. It took a minute before I realized I needed to see what my blood sugar level was. It took three tries before I was able to take a reading. On the third try, the machine returned a value of 35 mg/dl, which, well, isn't enough.

I walked into the kitchen and ate something, I think. I was still conscious of my skin being cool and damp. I don't know what I ate, but it must have worked, since 40 minutes later I was in the car driving to dialysis.

Now, on my way from the bedroom to the office I must have knocked a pile of stuff off a table. The pile contained my two-day-old portable CD player and my Visor. Before I left the house, I grabbed the CD player to take with me in the car. Today, I went to look at something on my Visor; I removed the cover and found that the crystal was shattered. *sigh* $85 to send me a new one, then I can send my old one back. Bah. Since the CD player is two days old, I'm taking it back to Best Buy, where it will have "just stopped working."

I was listening to the radio in the car as I drove around Saturday, and I heard this Shania Twain song. shudder Musically, this thing was overkill; it was filled with one hook after another, enough to support six or seven completely different songs, but they didn't go together the way songs are supposed to. It was just this hideous, awful, over-produced mishmash.

And I thought you might like to know.

~~~~~

My dad came over this morning. He's sobered up, which means he has only "two or three" drinks a day instead of ten or twelve. He stayed longer than he usually stayed and we had a nice talk. He is convinced that he can donate a kidney for me, and I've been trying to tell him not to keep his hopes up. He's had hypertension most of his life, and his medical history is not such that he's going to be a good candidate.

If that were enough to help him keep his drinking to a managable level, I'd be able to say that something good had come of my illness. On the whole, I can live with that.

2000-06-25, 15:05:25 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.