. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

All your life you were only waiting for this moment to arise

Later update: I have been looking at the pets available for adoption at the Washington Humane Society. I know it's bad for me, because I don't have the energy for a dog and I don't have the lap space for another cat, but their stories break my heart every time. People who leave their pets abandoned when they move, people who get pets despite their no pets buildings, people who mistreat their pets... they all make the ones who simply drop their unwanted animals in the shelter parking lot look good in comparison. I'd like to see all those reprobates severely fined if not jailed. So, if you need a pet--and who doesn't need a pet?--I urge you to try your local shelter. I'd gladly have nothing to look at on that web site in exchange for good homes for all of them. I particularly urge you to consider a full-grown cat or dog, they're much harder to place. My Lola was a three-year-old foundling, and Hecate was adopted when her person died of AIDS; she was six. I can't imagine what either of them looked like as kittens, and it doesn't make me love them any less.

OK, I know not everybody needs a pet, but take a look at your life and see if you can make room for one. Animals make life a happier, better place. At least think about it.

Mom has been driving the Saturn recently since I haven't exactly needed it. This being the case, the radio was set to a CLASSIC RAWK station when we got in the other day. The DJ was blathering about how great it was to see Grand Funk Railroad in town last weekend.

Eyeroll. Whatever.

At some point he played a Chicago song--one of the ones that's not "Does anybody really know what time it is?"--and I said "You realize this is why my generation hates yours, right?"

She acknowledged that I was probably right. I know my generation is responsible for some fairly reprehensible stuff (because I'm big enough to admit that we can't deny Tiffany and Debbie Gibson, what spawned the whole baby pop star movement of today) but I don't think that Bob Dylan and Jimi Hendrix are quite enough to make up for the load of crap that perpetuates through Classic Rock stations all over the US.

Then Mom tries starting to defend herself and her generation, saying that she's not personally responsible because she was in junior high when Elvis started making records. I contended that Elvis was damned cool when she was in junior high. She graduated from high school in 1964, a year that is still associated with the Beatles, and here I must quote Michael Stipe:

"I never liked the Beatles, always thought their stuff was elevator music."

I have to agree wholeheartedly with this statement, with the exception of one song: "Blackbird."

I went on to say that if she was going to bring up Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder, I was going to have to remind her of Elton John and post-1980 Billy Joel; she stopped there. She's not really hep enough to current pop music to chastise me about my generation's bizarre affection for Creed, but I would have blamed that on first-wave Millennials, because it's more or less true.

What she didn't acknowledge is that my generation looks askance at hers because so few of its number will admit that it, as a whole, has ever perpetrated any evil on the world. I've always seen the responsibility ducking thing as the greatest of those evils, but I've never met a Boomer who cops to that.

2001-01-23, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.