. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Come and sit by my side if you love me

"Red River Valley." How's that for an earworm? I keep hearing it sung in a Mermanesque shreik; it's not good. I need music, but didn't bring any CDs today.

Despite the torturous drone in my head, it's quiet here. Co-worker number one has finally shut her trap. (I think of her as number one because she sits nearest to the window. Number two is in the middle, and then there's me.) This is remarkably good, as it is unusual. The office is filled with the soft clacking of fingers pressing keys, that's all.

~~~~~

It's going to take some time before I adjust to being back at work. I went home, ate dinner, dealt with various medical issues then went straight to bed and slept until midnight. At that point, I dealt with more medical issues, watched part of a movie, then went back to sleep about 2 a.m. I slept until 7:30.

That's roughly 10 hours sleep, which seems like a lot. I wish it felt like a lot.

And I just now remembered that I forgot to leave the UPS slip signed. Grr. Why did I think Amazon shipped with the USPS instead? It's so hard to track business relationships any more.

~~~~~

Oh. What Nicole Said regarding Americans and their civil liberties. Wake up, people. Don't want your kids to use drugs? Spend time with them, or whatever it is you're supposed to do to prevent the adolescent burnout that leads to "delinquence." (I don't have kids; I don't have to know the specific techniques.)

But don't expect me to live in a police state for the safety of your offspring. I like kids, don't get me wrong; I don't like that the world is supposed to revolve around them.

Balance, people. That's the goal. "Won't somebody think of the Children?" is not the way to acheive it.

2000-10-03, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.