. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A wildly mixed bag of bits

Seems like morning.

I've fallen back into that pattern in which I stay up until about 6 a.m. and then sleep 'til 2 p.m. or thereabouts. Yesterday, thereabouts was 12:30. Today I tried to get up at 11, but turned off the alarm.

The thing that sucks is that the last two days have been beautiful. I'd really rather be out in them than sleep through them. I did go out yesterday afternoon. I tried to soak up all the colors of summer: the last roses in white and red, the bright blue sky and dark green leaves; the cool gray shadows, long at midday.

I can tell that the leaves on a few of the trees are starting to turn, but it's just a little so far. So today, after I finish my fluids, I'm going to go pick up my digital camera, which is waiting at the post office, and see a bit of the day. Maybe I'll have some lunch.

Then I'll come home and take pictures of the cats. I'm that sure you want to see them.

Tonight I'm supposed to go see This Is Spinal Tap with Rob and Ed. It should be interesting, as I have never actually seen Spinal Tap all the way through. I imagine I'm not the only one. I had always been stoned, which leaves me with no ability to concentrate, particularly when there's blue cheese dressing and carrots calling to me from the kitchen. It always made for an interesting evening, but I never saw the whole movie, no matter how many times I started watching it.

~~~~~

Olympic Moment: I thought it was pretty cool that some American chyk nobody had ever heard of won the 200 Meter Butterfly, which is "200 Fly" in Teevee Analyst Language. Susie O'Neill, the Australian celebrity swimmer, was heavily favored and even NBC was going on and on about her. All of a sudden they're screaming that this American chyk, Misty Hyman, down in lane 7 is going to get there first.

She was genuinely shocked to have won. I thought that was cool. On the other hand, next Olympic year, I'm vacationing someplace where NBC doesn't handle the broadcasting. Those people never shut up. I've enjoyed the coverage I've watched, sort of, but it does make a difference to me that it's not live. Maybe I'll go to Canada and hole up in a hotel room to watch the CBC, then buy shoes and bath products during the day.

Oh, speaking of shopping, I received my order from reflect.com today. I loved the packaging! It came in a big tube and everything was wrapped in bright tissue paper. The foundation looks ghastly in the pan but works quite well on my face. The lipstick is all right, very neutral. I might give them another chance.

2000-09-21, Mid Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.