. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Incoherent rambling

I'm trying to stay awake, so I'm going to blather in an incoherent fashion. OK?

Nicole mentions Lara Flynn Boyle and directs us to a picture to illustrate her point. She's airbrushed, of course. Apparently she has no body hair and no body fat; and yes, she looks a like a bobbing head doll wearing a black panties and heels. The few times I've seen her on teevee since Twin Peaks, it looks as though she's in pain just being. Here Lara, have a milkshake--my treat. It won't make you fat, but it might make you smile for a few minutes.

Now, in the past I've managed to offend workout queens with my skeptical comments about women who look like coat racks. I'm not against staying in shape, far from it, I envy you folks who have decent muscle tone right now but there's a vast difference between being in shape and being Hollywood thin.

That's just not healthy for most people. (Note that I say most people. I am acquainted with a couple of extremely healthy people who seems to carry no body fat whatsoever.) I suppose this has been on my mind because I keep losing weight. I lost a lot of weight once before and when I quoted the lowest number to Dr. J. last week he looked at me in horror and told me I was too tall to weigh that little.

My point is that how you feel really truly is more important than how much you weigh. Body composition, cardiovascular fitness, quality of life--all of these issues are more important than what size you wear or a number on the scale.

It's hard to give up a lifetime of conditioning that the goal is to be thin above all else; it's hard to get older and gain a few pounds, but let me tell you, I'd take back the four-to-six sizes and close to 40 pounds I've lost since the transplant if it meant I'd feel strong and healthy again.

I told you I was incoherent, didn't I? I think I'll make a couple of necessary phone calls and then go back to bed for a few hours. Then I'll take a bath with some of the lovely Lush things that Em sent me. Mmmmm. I may not be strong, but I'll be clean and soft, and I'll smell nice. Plus, I'll be warm and relaxed. That's a whole bunch of good somethings. Baths rock.

BTW, I've been looking into getting an antique claw-foot tub for the new bathroom I'm designing in my head. There are new-fangled ones with jets, and they're very nice, but they'd also set me back close to $5K, and I think that's a bit much to spend on a bathtub.

On the other hand...

2001-01-25, morning, again comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.