. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Loud and Long and Clear

Do you need more laughter in your life? OK, dumb question. Who doesn't need to laugh more? This morning I found myself chuckling over this copy:

During weekends it is often quite lively in downtown Reykjavik and it is wise to use common sense and be careful although most instances are not to serious drunken brawls between the locals. The same goes for looking after your property. If you forget to lock your car chances are that it will be perfectly safe even with valuables visible inside. But locking it is still wise as there are some bad apples around.

Now, maybe it's just me, but isn't that the funniest thing you've ever read, at least today? It came from a travel and tourism site about Iceland, which is reported to be a very safe place, with very few muggings, even in the city.

I laugh honestly at web copy written by non-native English speakers. I don't laugh at awkward constructions, but at the skewed perceptions of Americans by Others, and vice versa.

There are days when I just love the world for the way it is; there are other days when I seek out foriegn travel and tourism sites, which makes me like the world. There's a difference.

Oh, I talked to Ellen last night. Despite the implications of her diary she sounded together and level headed. Because I am a worrier, I was worried; but I am no longer so concerned.

2000-12-08, late morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.