. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Absolutely Positively Random

Random notes and updates:

Isn't it funny how two days with highs in the low 70s can make a day with the high in the low 80s seem hot? That's just wrong.

If you were wondering, all my tests from earlier in the week came back normal. Tonight I get to call J. to see if he's scheduled his tests. If all goes well, I want to do the transplant immediately after Christmas. Problem is that in order to do that, we'll have to schedule it now so we can get a surgeon.

If you are planning to burn lentils--not that anybody plans to burn lentils--try not to do it in a cast-iron dutch oven; try to do it in some kind of non-stick pan. Wait. You don't have any non-stick pans.

Note to self: get some non-stick pans because they are easier to clean when you burn something. Seriously, three days later and the dutch oven is still soaking. The charred remains of lentils may never come off my favorite pan. (When I said burnt, I meant it.)

I've been sick for the last week or so, and I'm tired of being sick. Bah. Last night I dreamed that I accidentally ate moth balls, and there were these pianos made out of white ice-chest-type styrofoam. They were all decorated with coasters and weird barware, and my grandfather wanted to strip the pianos of their ornamentation and sell them. I've had incomprehensible dreams before, and this is certainly one of them.

Oh. Adding a dollop of whipping cream to your scrambled eggs before cooking makes them extra tender. I have a really good recipe for scrambled eggs somewhere; I should dig that out.

2000-09-10, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.