. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

What's in a name?

Grrr.

I just lost an entry. It wasn't anything mind-blowing, but it's still a pain to lose it.

In the lost entry, I talked about my day, which wasn't very interesting. I did not use the phrase "longing for a grapefruit" even though I am.

I mentioned the time, which I believe was wrong, anyway; I talked about what I ordered from Lush a few minutes ago, specifically recommending the Lotta Iotta bath bomb because it contains oats and smells lemony.

Now, I didn't say this before, but lately I've seen the name "Briony" popping up a lot. I think it's a woman's name, but I can't be sure. No offense to anybody who has that name, but... weird. Do you say Bree-O-ny, BREE-ony, Breye-ony, what?

I like plain names, myself. If I were going to have kids, they'd have plain names. I remember once in high school that a friend of mine read a list of names and remarked that it said "Amanda is a farm name." Huh? For a long time, I was the only Amanda I knew, then all of a sudden there were all these young girls named Amanda.

For what it's worth, I was named for my great-great-great grandmother, Amanda Jane Brown, of Hillsboro, Texas. Her father was a banker, not a farmer; the family lived in town.

I remember this guy telling me that the name Amanda originated in the Renaissance; that Amanda was the word men used to call their mistresses, the women they really loved. I've never known whether that's true or not, frankly I suspected it was a line, but it was a good line.

Speaking of names, here's Lola, who was named for my favorite MAC eyeshadow. She says it's time for me to sleep, and she's right.

2000-07-30, 03:58:53 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.