. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

When things never change

It must get really boring to read another entry from me that begins with "I'm tired," but I am. Tired, I mean. I left home this morning about 7:30 with every intent of getting to the transplant clinic in time to have myself looked at. Didn't happen.

There was a stalled car on the SE-SW Freeway, then an accident on 395 South, so I spent longer driving than I actually wanted to. Once I got there, I had to turn right around and make for the apheresis lab. It's only half a mile, but I had to make a phone call while driving that half mile. Remind me not to do that again. The person I needed to reach was out of the office, anyway.

Once I got to the lab, Dr. Toricelli determined that protocol hadn't been followed in fixing up my infection, because my temperature was still higher than expected. (99.7 when I got there.) He calls, drags Dr. Jonsson out of a meeting; Dr. Jonsson says to admit me. This is not the best news of the day.

They decide it's best not to do the plasma exchange, but I went to sleep for two hours anyway because I was there, in a bed, and tired. This is kind of a no-brainer.

What ended up happening is that they came and decided that I didn't look sick, which is true enough. I'm remarkably healthy looking for a sick person. Especially considering that I can fool doctors who know me very well. Dr. J. says that if I'll hang around for a couple of hours and get antibiotics in the infusion clinic, I can go home afterward. Woohoo!

On the way home, I stopped for gas because the tank has been on empty for what seems like a very long time. I ended up in the wrong turn lane and so instead of making an illegal left, which I don't want to do, I make a right into the parking lot. I take this as a sign that I'm supposed to go to Loehmann's.

As it turns out, Loehmann's is having a sale, which means that great things are available for dirt cheap. I scored a super cute Sigrid Olson sweater, which is white, loose weave, with three-quarter sleeves and a boat neck; an ABS black stretch shirt with french cuffs and some DKNY capri leggings all for under $50.

I was going to try on this leather skirt for $40, but I knew the 14 would be way too big. It looked big for a 14, more like a 16. They didn't have a 10 on the rack, which is the risk you run at sales.

So I came home, did a few errands around the house, made the phone calls I needed to make and then took a long nap, after which I watched some teevee. (Antiques Roadshow and A Flea Market Documentary on PBS.)

And now I'm going to bed, then I'll get up, and in the morning this will start all over again with a drive to the hospital... This is how every day starts. They all end about the same, with me sitting down to complain about how tired I am, but I'm never sure what's going to happen in between.

I guess it's OK like that.

2001-07-30, Night comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.