. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Rain today. Yay.

Poor Lola.

I took her to the vet for a grooming yesterday. She was matted after my long hospital stay, and although I removed the worst of the mats with my fingers, as gently as possible, I left the rest of the to the groomer.

Initially, meaning before I got the worst mat, I had given instructions for what's called a clown cut. This involves shaving the cat's body and legs down to the paws, plus the tail if you want. Generally Lola gets a lion cut, which means that her back hind quarters and legs are shaved, plus the tail. Her coat up to an inch or so below the shoulders is intact.

So after I removed the first mat, I told the groomer to use her discretion and get all the mats.

My poor naked baby.

I don't know if she misses her coat. Sometimes she'll turn her head around and look for something to lick, and there's nothing there. She looks back up at me as if to ask what happened. I feel so guilty.

Ed came over earlier because we had plans for dinner, and I'll never forget the look of shock and amusement on his face when he saw her. I didn't think he could get his mouth open quite that wide.

We went to a place called the Duplex Diner, which was filled with fabulous men, many of whom looked like "I Told!" Marines. The women there were drinking Cosmopolitains. I guess they haven't caught up with the trends in the last five years or so.

The teevees in the bar were tuned to some Guinness Book of Records show in which a guy bounced a basketball through a hoop using his head. They had the closed-captioning turned on, but I thought it would have been much funnier if they'd left that off so the viewer might figure out some context on his or her own.

Anyway, the meat loaf and mashed potatoes were satisfying. I even finished the mashed potatoes. If I'd been slightly hungrier, I would have ordered pie for dessert. It was nice to eat something more than a couple of bites.

2001-07-26, Night comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.