. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

It's a girl!

I blundered onto Nordstrom's 100th anniversary sale this evening. I swear I just went there to return something. Return, meaning that I'd take something there that I didn't like and walk out with the money I originally used to buy it. And nothing else. I didn't know there was a sale.

So Mom said something about wanting some walking shoes, and we left Nordstrom, but not before I drooled on a Cole-Haan handbag. Well, I didn't really drool, but we did have to stop so I could pet the handbags. It's true. I pet them like cats. I looked at the price tag, which was specially marked for the anniversary sale at $119. "Oh, that's not bad," I remarked. I could hear my mom's heart stopping.

"Oh my god," I said in my best mom-horror voice. "I raised a girl!"

I need another handbag like I need another lipstick; like I need another hat, like I need another bracelet.

I did not buy the handbag, nor the flannel pajamas with the cute shoe print (because today was not the right day to buy flannel anything). However, I did buy a grapefruit-strawberry smoothie. It made me happy, happier than the handbag would have.

I also bought a lipliner; I used the word "need" in reference to this lipliner and I wasn't kidding. Neither the lipliner nor the smoothie came from Nordstrom, so in a way, I met my small little goal.

By the way, there's new content up at the Blab, if anybody cares.

2001-07-24, Midnightish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.