. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Thin Thighs in Thirty Days!
Not.

I am really, truly sick of thinking that my thighs are less than satisfactory. I mean, I know they're less than satisfactory to me, and I'm the only one who has a right to an opinion about my thighs.

Rather than try to rationalize that nobody is looking at my thighs, or search high and low for shorts that don't make me recoil in horror at one of my body parts, I'm going to do something about that body part.

I just don't know what. Do any of you know any good ways to help with thighs that seem a little too ample for the rest of one's body? I hope any suggestions wouldn't involve a video in which an impossibly fit exercise woman screams at the top of her lungs for half an hour.

I suck at exercise because I hate to do it--exercise for its own sake seems like a waste of time for me because I get little enjoyment out of it--but it's entirely possible that I hate my thighs more than I hate exercise. I know weight loss alone won't change anything, since I've lost weight and the thighs are unaffected.

I may start by dragging out the Pilates equipment, and if it's possible, I'll go to some classes. Maybe I can schedule them in between medical errands.

On the bright side, I walked a longer distance on Sunday than I had in a year. Fedward and I went to see Memento, which was quite good, and then planned to get dinner. Our original dinner spot was having kitchen trouble, so we walked from Ballston Mall all the way to Clarendon. It's probably not much more than a mile, but for me it was a major accomplishment. I didn't get winded and my head didn't ache. I never once felt as though I was about to pass out.

Maybe I don't hate exercise as much as I have become accustomed to not being able to do anything. I still need to remind myself that life right now is not the same as life a year ago, or two years ago, or ten years ago.

Some of that is good to the point of incredible; some of it is a little sad. Anyway, if I can deal with the humidity, which kicked in over the weekend, I really owe it to myself and everything I've been through in the past year to get back out there.

2001-06-12, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.