. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Surprise!

Well.

I am having a birthday this weekend. I'm not one of those "my birthday is a big hairy deal" people, and although I count quite a few of those folks among my friends, I still don't really understand it. I asked one of them once, and she must have said something, but it wasn't something that was cogent enough for me to remember now. (My memory is very strange in its selectivity.)

Regardless, I sort of feel like I ought to do something to celebrate still being here. Mom said something about brunch on Sunday, and asked if I wanted to invite friends. I don't think my reaction was any warmer than Shrug. Maybe. I mean, my friends are a notoriously hard bunch to gather in the same place at the same time, but I do have them, and they all like to eat.

Then today, Mom said something about having a houseguest over the weekend. She really could have strung this out for several days and surprised the hell out of me, because I never suspect this sort of thing. When I was 21, my roommate and my brother threw me a surprise party. I was so clueless that when a friend said to me the day before that she had heard about the big party for my birthday, I told her we weren't really doing anything, but she could come by if she wanted to. See my brother is coming to town for my birthday, which is really cool.

That doesn't help me come up with anything to do, but I still think it's cool that he's coming.

~~~~~

A couple of weeks ago, I bought a scarf and hat set. It's cute and warm, but the scarf bears a tag that reads "One Size Fits Most". It's a 60-inch-long scarf. How can a scarf not fit?

It reminded me of the veggie burger at the Hard Times Cafe, a local chili place. Said burger is available with bacon. Now, I know of a couple of vegetarians who will consider sushi a vegetable on occasion, but bacon?

And now I think of my visit to a Denny's in Winnipeg. Apparently when the menu was altered for the Canadian market, somebody did a global search and replace -- Canadian for American. That leaves you with "Canadian Cheese."

Canadian cheese is quite tasty, I'm a big fan of Black Diamond Cheddar, but that's... not what Denny's meant.

Oops.

01.15.2002, 2:15 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.