. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Jet Puffed Goodness

Aaaaaaaaaaaah. Fleeeeeeeeeece.

I am wearing the fleece nightshirt that Santa left for me. It's blue, and I am never going to take it off. Actually, I may go out and seek its fleece brothers and sisters at Lands' End. (Knowing where Santa shops can be very handy.) If this garment could be had in black or gray, even taupe, I'd wear it out of the house with boots, and I'd be the happiest camper in the whole world.

On the whole Santa left a lot of nice things under the tree at Chez Koog. Everybody seemed pleased with the gifts--even Dad, who was a little puzzled by the Snap Hooks and the nice saucepan. Mom liked her featherbed and seemed very touched that a friend of hers sent an enlargement of a photograph of me.

Relatives were called, and many greetings were exchanged. It was a very nice afternoon. All in all it was Christmas.

My other favorite gift was probably the least expensive thing under the tree: church key. I mean, a regular bottle opener. Why? I don't have one, and there are times when every person needs a bottle opener. (Sure, like when a person wants to open a bottle that's not a twist off. Duh.)

We have leftovers... it's not even funny. I mean, none of us eat very much and I fixed dinner suitable for a family of 12. Maybe a family of 12 would have required more potatoes. The dressing was a disaster because nobody was watching the cooking time; since I packed it in the wrong size pan, it never stood much of a chance. This made me particularly sad after my dressing disappointment of Thanksgiving at that restaurant. It's my favorite leftover, too. I will have to be satisfied with killer turkey and killer ham. Oh, and Ambrosia.

Do you know about ambrosia? Sure, it's the food of the gods, but do you know how to make it? Chopped navel oranges tossed with shredded coconut, maraschino cherries, chopped pecans and miniature marshmallows. Let is sit for about an hour and it turns into something... well, my mom made it when I was a kid, and she made it today. It brought back non-specific memories, not like Proust's Madeleine, just "hey, I remember that I've had this combination of tastes before."

Personally, I credit the marshmallows.

12.25.2001, 3:33 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.