. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Peace on Earth... or something

I didn't even realize I hadn't updated in a few days. I was just sitting here and I thought "diary!" The thought was sort of like a bee-sting.

Finally got the "tree" trimmed. It looks nice with the lights on. No, really, it looks nice. It sort of glows all golden with colorful bulbs and other shapes all around. The cats like it, but they seem to respect it--unlike some other cats and other trees. I suppose that plastic thing is not a Thing to Be Climbed. Only Lola has the claws to climb, anyway, and she's not a climber. Poor Hecate has no front claws. (If you have cats, please let them keep their claws; they wouldn't really be cats without them.)

So, I'm watching CNN this morning and the crawl says something about how Ariel Sharon is tired of Arafat's speeches. The semi-editorial comment said something about a "struggle for peace."

Well then. I never heard of a peace process that involved guns and suicide bombers. They're not struggling for peace, they're struggling for survival on one side and power on the other. You have to choose which group is on which side for yourself. I don't think either side hopes for peace as much as both hope for dominance.

I'm not sure what to do about this problem except to say "put down your guns, sit down and shut up." Perhaps the rest of the world should just take the attitude that the Israelis and the Palestinians can just bomb and shoot at each other until they are all dead. The rest of us are through caring.

All I know is that "peace in the Middle East" has been a world goal since I was a little kid. A lot of money, time and weaponry has been thrown at it and none of that has worked.

I think it's just time we gave up.

12.18.2001, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.