. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Upon my return

Je reviens.

How is it that saying 'I'm back' in French sounds so much more polished and sure? I suppose a lack of familiarity with the words would make the difference that forces you to consider each bit of each word as you sound them out, hoping you've chosen the right one in the right place; there are so many.

Imagine feeling that way about English.

Do non-native speakers feel that way about English, or to they simply curse the language for its irregularities? I've always wondered.

So my hiatus is over for a short time. I will be here until Thursday of next week, when I go to Florida to visit my brother's family over the holiday. I'm back on the 26th and then January 8 I go into Fairfax Hospital for a second attempt at a kidney transplant.

After that, we'll see. I know that during the weeks after the first surgery, the early part when my recovery was going well, I felt like documenting things.

No idea how I'll feel this time around, but on reflection, I know the last couple of years have been truly remarkable from where I sit.

The view from here is always interesting.

12.14.2002, 11:46 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.