. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Thankfuls 2001

Please note that I jotted down these thankfuls earlier in the week. Boy, am I glad I did. Today I'm in a lot of pain and not feeling thankful for much of anything. Anyway, I hope all of you have a nice thanksgiving, including feasty goodness. We're going to a restaurant, and I still have to figure out what I'm wearing.

-----

First, I am thankful that I am still alive. There never really came a time when I thought I wouldn't make it, nevertheless, that's the most critical thing. On the other hand, I've been through so much that it impresses everybody who's read my chart. Not in a "wow!" way, in a "damn." way.

Second, I am thankful that I have so many friends and family who have stuck with me through this terrible, terrible year. I am equally grateful for my own coping skills, which I will take this opportunity to share: one, put blinders on, as there will be time to look around later; two, never refuse pain killers if you're in pain.

I am glad that I've been able, through sheer stubbornness, to maintain some small measure of independence, but I am also glad I've had help.

I am terribly thankful for my big girl cats. They are soft, warm and comforting, even if they do fight with each other from time to time. Animals make such a difference in a life. Every time I come home, I know my girls are waiting for me, and that makes me happy.

And finally, I'm glad that, although the world seems to have lost its mind at times, it doesn't seem to have fallen apart. That's a good thing for all of us.

I thought I'd add some more tangible things I'm thankful for, because we all know I'm about things as much as I can me. So I'm thankful for Chanel Infrarouge Nude lipstick, yet another perfect-ish color; cashmere sweaters that are older than I am, even if they are looking a little worn around the edges... quality lasts; fun sheets, found on sale; clogs clogs clogs, still my favorite shoes; saran wrap, which allows me to take showers and properly wash my hair during these weeks with the tube in my neck.

Last, I'm thankful for bright, bright, bright sunshiny days. Even when a cool wind is blowing, there's always a little warm spot in the sun, and when I find one I feel like a cat. I want to stretch all my bones and muscles, including my jaws. I'm not yawning!

11.21.2001, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.