. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

How I am

Hello dear people, if any of you left out there, with my sporadic entries and all...

I would try to write more often, but something stops me. It's never the same thing, and it's never very important, but the various somethings get in the way.

One of them is that my DSL connection needs a new power supply, or so the tech support guy says. From time to time my supposed-always-on connection goes off and won't make a link, say to the uploading process for diaryland.

Oops. There goes my screed about why young people should vote. I don't think that really matters, since I assume that all of you vote. (You do, right?)

Other times I'm consumed with worrying about the local sniper. It's weird. I shouldn't be concerned, but I am. I have fallen into the media-induced frenzy over this series of events, even as I find it sort of funny in a modern-ironic detatchment way. That's all before I have to go outside and drive to the suburbs to visit one or the other of my doctors.

I've also been spending more time working with Maine Coon Rescue, trying to help in any way I can. I wish my basement were a little more hospitable, because I could house several foster cats down here, and there are a lot of Coons waiting for homes who need a nice way station. But I know Hecate would kill me for bringing another fluffy cat into the house. She's mad enough about the two who are staying.

There's good stuff, too. The weather here has been beautiful, nearly perfect. I have another potential kidney donor, although he's the wrong blood type. There's a new and very promising procedure that they're doing up at Johns Hopkins that might make it possible for me to accept a kidney from somebody whose blood type didn't match. It's not dangerous, in fact I've been through the process before, for something else.

Actually, something just occurred to me, and I need to go do some research, and possibly get in touch with somebody on the transplant team at Hopkins.

10.22.2002, 6:11 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.