. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Yet Another Kiddie Music Rant

Warning, here's another rant about music I shouldn't even know about.

I saw a Linkin Park video on MTV a few days ago. My god, they suck more than Creed. Do they even try to play instruments? I couldn't tell. I don't know why I was watching MTV, because I haven't done that in years and years, not since I was part of its target audience; I knew when I'd worn out my welcome. See, I was flipping channels and I spotted an actual music video. Stunned by surprise, I watched the tail end of one and the full content of the next, which is where I spotted Linkin Park.

I'd heard the band's name before because some people I know who have ties to Chicago were talking about it on a mailing list. I did not know anything about the music, so I was taken aback to find a band that has the gall to be n'sync meets Limp Bizkit with no irony whatsoever.

The members of Linkin Park appeared to be about 15 years old. There was a post-apocalyptic feel to the video, and I couldn't find it in my heart to say anything beyond "yes, these are the end times."

My problem with the band is twofold: one, obnoxious white "rappers" should never meet boy bands; two, they're so clearly a marketroid's dream that they almost have to be the fourth horseman. I'd hate to see these boys stripped of their store-bought angst--their video games and Metallica records--what in the world would they have left.

I'm even more disgusted that there's a market for this kind of thing. Who's buying Linkin Park records? Who's going to their concerts?

Losers, that's who. I hate it that kids can't see when they're being sold a bill of goods. It's just about as fake as the movies, which is why I hate Linkin Park. Kids, check out Megadeth if you're really interested in metal. Check out something, just don't be pacified with Linkin Park.

Eeeew.

10.02.2001, 10:32 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.