. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

If you say so...

So. Over the weekend my curiosity got the better of me and I tried a Dr. Pepper Red Fusion, hoping beyond reason that it would turn out to be Big Red in disguise. I was oddly disappointed when he contents of the bottle tasted exactly like... Dr. Pepper, except that it's red. I cannot imagine what they were thinking, with the possible exception of "people will drink more of our beverage if it's a bright color!" I'm not entirely sure what one might fuse with Dr. Pepper to make it exciting and new. There were times when I tbought I detected a slight cinnamon tinge to the flavor, but I wasn't sure. It's entirely possible that my palate was just trying to grab onto something, anything to justify the color change.

It's supposed to have an "alluring blend of fruit flavors." Um. OK.

~~~~~

I have a lap cat!

I've been longing for a lap cat ever since Lola died, and although Sandy the breeder swore to me that Amelia wanted to be a lap cat, she doesn't exactly seek out laptime. No, my little Chatterbox would rather sit in the window and chirp at the piegons. I understand that, I mean, she's a cat. Cats like to talk to birds. I always think it's trash talking, but you never know.

Until recently, Marilyn Maineroe showed almost as little interest in my lap. Oh, she'd come for a few minutes, but not very long until I brought her home from the vet last week. Ever since then, she's been crawling up on my lap of her own volition. I pet her, and she purrs. She sits until I move.

This is a very happy development. Her fur is so soft thanks to the spendy wet food, and my Fluffernutter is definitely proving herself to be the gentle giant that a Maine Coon is supposed to be.

If after reading my ravings about the wonders of life with a Maine Coon you decide that you need one, please check out Maine Coon Rescue. There are Coons in shelters and foster care all over the U.S. who need homes. The Maine Coon is a cat that even a dog person could love.

10.01.2002, 10:03 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.