. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Blah blah blah haircut blah blah lotion blah blah exfoliate

Today has been a pretty good day. I got my hair cut, which is always a good thing. It had started to look a little too much like a mushroom cap, and I have bad memories of a person who had hair that looked like a mushroom cap. I mean, I felt sorry for her, but nobody was making her wear her hair that way.

It was just so sad. She seemed to be in the grips of anger all the time, and I always wondered if a better haircut might help. Of course, I never suggested that, because she wasn't the sort of person to whom I would have made such a suggestion; I just felt bad for her, because she looked prematurely frumpy and didn't seem to have any style at all.

How do you say "you poor thing, it's sad that you have no style" without sounding like a complete bitch? All right, nobody's ever going to nominate me for Miss Congeniality. Greg, my hairdresser, says that if everybody likes you, you're doing something wrong. (He also offered me the use of his beach house if I ever want it. Have I mentioned that Greg rocks?)

Now, product news. No, I haven't bought anything lately, but I do have to change my opinion about something I dissed several months ago. I was so wrong about Philosophy's Be Somebody, a heavy-duty body lotion. Mom brought me some when my skin was painfully dry and it helped so much. The slightly icky waxy scent fades away before the lotion soaks in, and leaves no fragrance behind. This means you can go ahead and put on the fragrance of your choice and it won't conflict with how the lotion smells, or you can go unscented. Either way, you're good.

Also, the exfoliation secret I'd like to share is Queen Helene's Oatmeal and Honey scrub. It's available in drug stores and natural food stores, it's really cheap--like $2.50 for a tube that will last a year--and it works like a charm. I use it in the shower to slough off the dead skin. If you have sensitive skin, you'll probably want something else for your face. Oh, and Neutrogena's Pore Refining Cleanser, which I didn't care for as a facial cleanser, makes an excellent body scrub. It's gentler and more expensive than the Queen Helene, but it does a good job and leaves my skin feeling clean and smooth, but not tight.

This is important stuff, people.

One last note: in the entry about buying soda online, I totally blew the domain name. I'll blame the meds, though I probably wasn't even hepped up on goofballs at the time. Anyway, if you were looking to buy soda online, that link works now.

2001-02-01, late afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.