. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Missing: one pair rimless glasses

I took off my glasses several hours ago, and I put them down somewhere. And then I forgot about them. So I don't know where they are. This is exceptionally embarrassing because I have two pair of glasses, and I can't find either of them. Technically I have three, but one is sunglasses, and I can't really wear those inside.

So if you were my glasses, where would you be? I have looked in all the usual places, so I guess I should look in some of the unusual places.

It's not that I'm getting absentminded; well, I don't know what it is, but I lose track of my eyewear more often than I used to. I guess I need one of those stupid leashes for my specs.

Somebody put me in fashion prison if I actually get one.

09.29.2003, 9:51 p.m. comments (1)

It's a big country, somebody's got to drive in it

Tom DeLay, I say to you "Knock off all that evil!" Here's the deal:

America's roads need roughly $400 billion dollars worth of work. Roughly a thousand American motorists die each year because of the sad conditions of roads.

The House Majority Leader says it's not important. The average American commuter spends an extra three days per year sitting in traffic because our Interstate system is falling apart. This is all in the WaPo article I linked above.

They don't want to spend what's necessary to fix our roads, our power grid, our schoold; but Congress, which is firmly in DeLay's grip, hasn't got much of a problem sending $150 billion to Iraq to rebuild that.

Now, I would hate to be identified as an America First type, I'm all for spreading good will in the world, but when Condi Rice says, on national television (OK, I know nobody watches Meet the Press, but the Press does, and that gets news coverage) and says that the administration thought Baghdad was a first-world resort city, like the travel brochures, and that building roads, schools and a new power grid will help establish democracy, I have to wonder what the administration has been smoking.

She also said that nobody in the administration had ever claimed that Saddam Hussein was connected to the terrorist attacks on Sept. 11, 2001.

I am not kidding. She actually said that. Tim Russert kept a straignt face; I just about fell off the couch.

VP Cheney, however, said this. Somebody might want to brief Dick; you know, get him up to date on the what the administration did or didn't say as of this week.

As I've said a number of times, the thing I admire most about Richard Nixon is his extraordinary ability to surround himself with people who could keep their stories straight.

Abtway, I have to wonder if anybody here can Drive This Thing. I'm really not sure.

09.29.2003, 12:55 a.m. comments (2)

before - after

.
. .
.