. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Koog blames everything on...

The weather here is just lovely, although I still think the temperature in my house is more intense than outside. All summer long I felt like inside was warmer than outside, and now I feel like inside is cooler than outside. Freaky, man.

In honor of the apparent change in season (is it just me who thinks that the equinox isn't for another month, or is that right? I really think it happened last week while I was hospitalized and too drugged up to notice) OK, anyway, I hooked up the new printer. I had been having a problem with it. The problem turned out to be a very d'oh thing, a stupid thing that I will blame on the painkillers along with everything else I've manage to flub during the last year. I couldn't figure out how to get the cartridge in... because I was putting it in backward.

See what I mean? I'm afraid I am one of those RTFM people. This isn't a good thing. In any project that involves putting something together, I never think of reading the directions before starting. It just doesn't occur to me, because I'm so used to making it up as I go along--improvising. I don't read the directions, I write them.

I wonder if this Al Haig-ish attitude is at the foundation of my problem with the rest of the world. Ed made a remark once about "rules that don't apply to Koog" and I didn't take offense.

That's... well, blame it on the painkillers. I am not taking them any more because they mess with my head. I think it's bizarre that I can't take ibuprofen or naproxen because they'll damage my all but non-functioning kidneys, but I can take the stuff that's like heroin, which has become public enemy number one. I think I'd rather just cope with the aches for a while than sleepwalk.

09.27.2001, 12:34 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.