. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

"..."

Well, I'm back. It has been tough to maintain what was supposed to be a daily diary over the last year, but I'd like to think that in the future, only the lack of inspiration will keep me from writing.

I know it's not over, and I am unsure that "it" will ever be "over." After all, I will always have to take care of myself differently than most. I wanted to take a second to say that I couldn't have come this far without the support of my friends and family, most particularly my mom. She and I don't always get along, but she has been there for me when I've needed that.

When I say "when I've needed that" what I mean that there have been times in the past couple of months when I have been unable to stand up for myself, both literally and figuratively. And what I mean to say is "Thanks, Mom" in some sense of the word public.

I still get a lot of support from friends and strangers who are thinking about me. There's so much going on out in the world that I often feel like my problems are minor in a grand scheme of things. Today I read a bit of correspondence from a friend who has troubles of his own asking me what was up. My previous e-mail to him was the first he'd heard about the kidney, and his response--perfectly natural--was to say I am sorry for your loss.

That seemed so somber, when to me the act of losing the kidney seemed like just another something that happened to me in the course of everyday life.

All you wonderful people, for having some sense of perspective and for sharing it with me, I thank you.

09.25.2001, 10:23 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.