. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Dental Diet

Have you ever noticed that people on sitcoms never drive. It seems that driving is not funny.

I can't really disagree, since it seems like when I get behind the wheel I turn into a blithering, foul-mouthed idiot, just like everybody else on the road. This morning, I came to the conclusion that it's a bad idea to try taking another route when you are afraid of traffic. Well, if you're me it's a bad idea. Twice in the past week I have tried driving a different way so I could save a little bit of time. Both times, my lack of first-hand knowledge of the streets in question have caused me to... since I'm talking about myself here, I'll be kind: I got lost going home from the vet after I dropped Marilyn this morning, because I forgot that 66 is HOV-2 at that hour.

I support HOV restrictions, so I felt like I made the moral choice in not getting on the highway for three exits. Well, and I didn't want to risk a ticket, since tickets are bad. (Koog has many secrets; one of them concerns her driver's license or lack thereof to be specific. It's expired, not suspended.)

Anyway, I'm not sure how it happened, but I bumbled around the Ballston-Clarendon areas of Northern Virginia trying to find a way back to 395, which I had been hoping to avoid. This is just not a road you want to travel at 8:20 a.m., even when you've stopped at Dunkin' Donuts for coffee and a Pumpkin Spice donut. (It was very tasty, and I recommend it without reservation if you like pumpkin-y things.)

Not to digress, but have you ever wondered about people who say "a coffee" when they really mean "a cup of coffee." I don't think coffee can be singular thing. I was confused the first time I ever heard a person refer to "a coffee." A coffee what?

Anyway.

I finally got home. Traffic was lighter than I expected, and the car was much calmer with no screaming cat for company. I don't blame her for screaming. I wouldn't like to be stuck in a bag first thing in the morning, then dragged out into the big world and put in a car, all the while this person is telling me everything will be all right. How do you know that?

When Marilyn Maineroe screams, it's really pretty cute. She's going to get her teeth and gums worked on, because she has gingivitis. I didn't even know cats could get gingivitis, but I guess it makes sense, as they don't exactly floss daily.

Do you floss as often as you should?

In closing, I have to say that this seems to be the first full day of autumn. I walked out this morning and I felt a little cooler than over the weekend, when it was a little stuffy.

Interesting.

09.23.2002, 10:06 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.