. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Bush Not Liar, Bush Says

It was such a short stay that y'all didn't even have time to miss me. Frankly, when the nice people in the pheresis lab and Dr. Jonsson conspired to admit me after I scared them with a fit of chills, my first thought was "well, it's air conditioned here." My second thought was of scantily clad chanteuse Mariah Carey, who checked herself into a hospital for a couple of days with "exhaustion." She said something about wanting to get some sleep.

Couldn't she have just gone to a hotel in some remote location? I mean, who would look for Mariah Carey in Iowa? Now, I had the line pulled out of my chest because of an infection, plus I slept a lot, maybe 20 hours out of the time I was there. I so enjoyed sleeping; schedule II narcotics just rock for sleep, but frankly the quiet, the darkness and the institutional air conditioning helped just as much if not more. I'll bet Mariah didn't have that much excitement.

So, I don't think much of Shrub's compromise. For one thing, there may or may not be 60 existing lines; for another, some lines are useful for some purposes, but not all lines are useful for all purposes. There are a lot of purposes. I know he couldn't come out and say that the "compromise" was politically motivated, but his moral posturing bothered me quite a lot.

I'd like to remind any of you who have forgotten that George W. Bush is a drunk from a prominent family who sobered up a few years ago and decided that he wanted to be president. (I stole that from Jon Stewart, but I also believe it to be true.) So far I have managed to ignore that Bush lives at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW here in Washington. Now I think that may be the wrong tactic.

His continued insensitivity to human beings makes me angry. I cannot, and will never accept that a bundle of cells, a "potential life" is more valuable than pre-existing humans. I have a serious problem with the political movement that values fetuses over their mothers, and this issue just makes that worse.

Yes, I'm angry. I'm angry that they've sold us down the river to pay for an ill-advised tax cut that will fold in on itself before the books are closed on the Bush administration. I'm angry that the strings of the far right, an extremely small but vocal minority, are tugging so hard on politics, And I'm angry that nobody seems to notice. I didn't notice until this week.

That, that bothers me.

2001-08-11, 11:32 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.