. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Airports and Congressmen

Right, so yesterday I implored you to investigate the voting record of your representatives in Congress.

Today, here's a tool to help you do that.

Check out those voting records. I would if I had a congressman with a vote.

Did y'all know that? That residents of the District of Columbia pay federal income tax but have no vote in either the house or the senate? We have to have them in our city, and yet we can't partipate in their lawmaking. Our city council passes a budget and the has to send it to Congress to be approved. That's how yahoos like former Georgia Rep. Bob Barr was able to hog-tie our transit system into replacing signage at National Airport to reflect its new travesty of a name, which I won't mention because that airport will always be National to me.

There are still some New Yorkers who call JFK "Idlewild."

It's like that.

08.23.2003, 1:26 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.