. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

It's all about the carbon

Knives!

I have new knives!

I am so happy about these knives that I could do a happy knife dance, but that might be dangerous. I could trip over a cat and kill myself. I don't think that would be good, and it definitely wouldn't be happy.

The new knives are Swiss. Not that I'm a huge fan of the Swiss, politically, but they know their knives. Mine are manufactured by a division of Victorinox, the nice folks who bring us Swiss Army Knives. Unfortunately, my kitchen knives do not feature hidden tweezers, or a handy tool for cleaning your local bong, but I do love them.

I mean, they were on sale.

I was so taken with chopping things this afternoon that I made a rice dish. Unfortunately it didn't turn out as well as I'd have liked--just a little too salty because of the olives I used--but I had such fun chopping that I didn't care. I ate the rice stuff for dinner and then pitched the rest because I didn't think the leftovers would magically become less salty.

There's no such magic in this world. Well, perhaps there is, but it involves potatoes; I didn't have any potatoes on hand.

In other news that has nothing to do with knives, the meeting with Dr. Jonsson, the one that's supposed to produce a plan, has been moved from Monday to Friday. I'm not sure why I think of this as a meeting rather than an appointment, except that I think I get to keep my clothes on.

This sort of leaves me in the lurch, but I'll figure it out on Monday... maybe. If I can do so from jury duty. I do not really expect to be chosen for a jury, but I will show up. I would have skipped it in order to go out to Annandale to make plans... I'm such a bad example of a citizen.

Part of the reason I'd rather have the meeting on Monday is that they've just increased the dosage of a drug that made me sick last winter. Several times. I think that particular drug has been responsible for 20 or so of my hospital days this year. The alternative is that my levels of immunosuppression will be too low, and that's not good either. Either way I could be very sick by Friday, and I'd really rather go into this from a position of strength.

Oh, also today I gave up and increased the size of the font on my display. I may not like it, but I am much more comfortable now. Eventually some doctor will figure out what's wrong with my vision, it's just a matter of finding the right one.

So, um, knives! Shiny, useful knives with silky wooden handles that feel nice in my hands. On sale, even. Happy knives on sale.

2001-08-24, 11:21 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.