. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Insert noise made by Charlie Brown's teachers here

I have had such a trying day. I mean, it started out all right, because there's a shiny new dishwasher in the kitchen and extra efficient dishwashing liquid. I'll be surprised if it works, but pleasantly surprised. Anyway, after that I decided to work on my insurance issue.

Y'all didn't know that I'd been having an insurance issue, did you? Well, I have. That particular story is long and not all that interesting except that it falls into the category of Stupid Things That Have Happened To Koog Recently.

I thought I had the insurance problem solved when Company A told me that Company B had already been faxed, indicating that I am eligible for benefits. I was overjoyed at this news. The trouble was that Company B had its wires crossed several times. Yes, they had me back on the list of the eligibles, but they couldn't decide how the jam the delay put me in was to be fixed.

Several different options were presented to me by various folks I spoke to on the phone. One was to extend my prescription at the retail pharmacy for another month. Two was to have me purchase the refill at retail prices and be reimbursed later. Three was to have a two-week prescription called in, which I'd pay for at retail prices. The fourth, which seems to be the actual solution, is that I get the two week prescription, and my usual $15 co-pay applies. I don't have a problem with this, given that a two week supply of Rapamune would have cost me something like $1500.00.

What does give me pause is not being able to get the same answer twice from people in the same company. I suggested to the last supervisor I spoke to that it might be time to review the company's training and reference materials. She agreed, but really, what else was she going to do. I thanked her for her help and hung up.

2001-08-22, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.