. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Go Figure

Google hit of the day: "rob thomas my band sucks". Does the searcher have a lousy band, and he wants Mr. Thomas' advice, or is the searcher just another guy who hates Matchbox 20? I'll probably never know.

So, today I learned that I am not full figured. This will come as no surprise to most people who know me, but I wasn't exactly sure. Well, I wasn't really thinking about it, to tell the truth. The fact came to me in a department store dressing room where I had gone to try on a bra. It looked like a perfectly ordinary white bra, sturdy enough to be worn while exercising without being... if you have ever worn a sports bra, you'd know what I meant without me grasping for the word "constricting." Sports bras are made mostly of rubber, and they are mighty uncomfortable.

OK, so I picked up my regular size and when I put it on, the cups were enormous. I didn't come anywhere near filling them up, so I checked the size to make sure I hadn't grabbed something bigger than intended, which is when I saw the tag, which read:

For Fuller Figures.

Fuller than what?

Fuller than me, I guess. Who knew that there were so many distinctions in bras. I wear them, and I didn't know. I mean, I knew there were a lot of choices, but I didn't know that a B cup for me is different than a B cup for a person with a "fuller figure."

For the record, my favorite bra is the one from Victoria's Secret that has the titanium underwire. It's kind of shapeless, but it works for me. I have two of them in a sort-of beige microfiber and one in pink cotton-lycra. They're utterly non-descript, but I like them.

08.19.2002, 10:02 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.