. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

On the road again.

Route 50 is one of my favorite roads. It travels through the District, Virginia and Maryland; in Virginia, the lights are timed so that if you drive in regular traffic in the neighborhood of the speed limit, you have to stop twice between where I get on at Washington Blvd and where I exit at Gallows Road.

I love that.

50 through Arlington and into Falls Church is lined with a weird collection of retail establishments, including an enormous Home Depot. My favorite place is Steven Windsor, Tall, Big and Short Men's Shop. First, who is named Steven Windsor? Finding one would be like finding an actual human named Mary Worth or Mark Trail. Second, didn't short men used to have their own freak clothes shop? That variety of clothing sizes must make for... well, you know. That's got to suck.

Anyway, driving on Route 50 reminds me why I like to drive. I'd like to go on another road trip one of these days. Remind me to tell the story of breaking back into the U.S. from Canada one of these days. Even if you already know the story, it's still worth retelling.

While I'm rambling about nothing, I may as well note that there are not enough Taco Bell locations in the National Capital Region. If all were good in the world, somebody at Pepsico would be reading this, and they'd say "You know, Koog's right! More Taco Bells in DC and Baltimore!"

So, today's task is to go buy a DVD player. This will be my third DVD player of 2001. If that seems like a lot to you, it seems like a lot to me, too. I discovered a couple more things missing from break-in number two, namely my Visor, which I didn't use that much anyway, and a portable CD player. Whatever. They also took the cradle for the Visor, which means the theives were upstairs. The CD player was in my bedroom, and I'm not sure I could have found it easily. This means that somebody pawed through my stuff. I think that bothers me more than the actual break-in; I feel a little bit unclean about the whole thing.

All of which serves to remind me that I need to price new windows for the front room.

2001-08-18, 12:04 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.