. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

This is how Koog talks, with the semi-colons and the em dashes and everything.

So, yesterday, or some time in the very recent past, I was reading something, either online or on paper, and an ad struck me. It was a small ad, down in the corner of a page. Isn't it funny that both on line and on paper we still speak of "pages"? Not ha-ha funny.... you know.

Anyway, this ad. I think it was for a t-shirt, but I can't be sure. I strongly believe that the product being advertised was made of cloth, probably white or "natural" cloth, which pretty much narrows down the selection of items to t-shirts, tote bags and boxer shorts. I mean, one doesn't often see a logo printed on, say, a tablecloth.

The picture, which was represented by a small drawing in black and white, though I assume that the actual real-life printing would be in some terribly visible shade of green, and it featured three frogs. This made me laugh because Fedward used to have license plates that said "3Frog," which was supposed to make one think of "treefrog;" which, well, is a long and boring story. Even moreso than this one, although it might ramble less. Suffice it to say that a lot of people didn't "get" that license plate.

Anyway, so the frogs. The first one was drawn to have its eyes covered with its little froggy hands. I assume you get where I'm going with this. I looked at the little cartoon frogs for a minute, The frogs weren't even all that cute, from what I could see. I wondered why anybody would want something like that on a t-shirt/totebag/boxer, and I didn't figure it out.

Then I noticed the headline. No Evil Frogs.

I'll say that again: No Evil Frogs.

I don't know about you, but I could't stop laughing. I wanted the shirt or whatever to feature an evil frog--whatever an evil frog looks like--with a red slash through it. Like Ghostbusters, only not.

I know that the caption should have said "No Evil" Frogs, but we know more about using punctuation to convey meaning than that caption writer, now don't we?

I still think that the world would probably be better off without evil frogs, and if I should ever run for public office, you know, right after hell freezes over, I'll be sure to put that on my agenda.

P.S. A couple of nice people have made me aware of the recent lack of graphics, which I can only attribute to the free server I was using going away without saying goodbye. *snif* I do have the gold membership, and I may as well use it. I know I've said this before, but I'm going to do something with the template. Really. Some time before I buy that notebook. Real Soon Now. However, I'll fix the graphics ASAP.

2001-08-15, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.