. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

What kind of things?

I am thinking about buying a Macintosh.

This is bothering me, so don't call me a convert yet. I don't have a problem with the OS, it's all right, and I even like most of the hardware, but I don't like the smug-superior attitude of Mac People.

I can't stand that part. Now, I have a lot of friends who use Macintosh as their platform of choice, and not all of them are Mac People. I'd say it's about half and half, actually. My problem is that I don't think that one's choice of computer platform should be a religion. I also don't think that one's choice of hardware should dictate one's choice of software.

Don't get me wrong, I think Windows blows just as much as anybody who knows anything about it. Most of my problem with the whole Mac People thing is that so many of them know so little about why the platform is better.

I just can't imagine wanting to use something, wanting to boast about using something because you think it makes you better than everybody else, and then freely admitting that you're all talk, that you prefer Macintosh because you don't know anything else.

Now, some of the Macintosh loyalists that I know know a lot more about computers than I ever will, and that's fine. I respect that. My first ever computer was a Macintosh, but that was a long time ago.

What I'm thinking about is the iBook with the Combo drive, because I think the Combo drive is cool. It seems like a decent deal for the price, especially when compared to Wintel machines at the same price range; and I've been waiting for OSX just as long as anybody else has, since they started talking about it years and years ago.

Anyway, I might buy one, but I'm not going to be a Mac Person. Not a chance. (I should mention that I don't find any problem with most Mac People when they're not talking about computers... but whatever.)

I am craving pancakes and maple syrup, and it's almost painful.

2001-08-03, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.