. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Zorak Things

So I tried an experiment this week. I wanted to see how long I could go without hitting the ATM. I started the week with roughly $4 in my wallet, so this was an interesting experiment.

I made it until today. I needed to get some cash to buy veggies at Eastern Market, so I went and got $20, but since I did it at my bank, I didn't incur any extra fees. (Aren't those fees evil? I haven't even seen a machine that didn't charge an extra fee in close to five years, and the one I saw five years ago shocked me. Usury, I tell you.) And then I spent about $6 on veggies.

I fully intended to make myself a nice salad for dinner, but although I fully intended to buy lettuce, I forgot. I guess the sight of the gorgeous organic tomatoes just washed the lettuce out of my head.

I am also out of olive oil, and although I could make a salad without lettuce, I don't think I can get by without olive oil, either. (Well, I have grapeseed oil and at least two kinds of sesame oil. I probably could have done without the olive oil.)

And this brings me to another point. Right now the most annoying woman on the Food Network is the chyk who hosts "30 Minute Meals." I just hate her because she insists on saying E-V-O-O when she means "olive oil." She says it just like that, long and drawn out, like she thinks she's cute, and she thinks other people are going to think she's cute. Unfortunately she's not all that cute, and she sounds really stupid.

So if she lost her ability to speak in a bizarre gardening accident, I wouldn't have a problem with that.

08.02.2003, 10:19 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.