. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Rock and Roll

For whatever reason, I've stopped watching teevee. It may be that I'll start again, but I may not. Part of it has to do with the battery being dead on the teevee's remote. There's so little satisfaction in watching only one channel.

I stopped at Home Depot on the way home from the hospital. My main objective was to buy light bulbs, which I did. I spent $50 on light bulbs because I got the fancy kind that use less energy and don't need to be replaced very often. Some of them promise a five-year life span and others promise seven; we'll see about that.

I like them so far, meaning that I installed one in the basement near the washer. I expect that I'll go get a few more of these, because I hate to change light bulbs.

If you're a person who doesn't really like to be looked at, as I am, I don't recommend that you stop in at Home Depot while wearing a sweater through which your bra is visible. It's just not a smart move. This would be the super cute Sigrid Olson sweater from the other day, because today was simply the perfect day to wear it. So anyway, I wandered around Home Depot looking for light bulbs for several minutes while men turned around as if to confirm that, yes, my bra was visible through my sweater.

I believe I've reached the point of whatever about that whole thing, though.

I did remember to get batteries, but I haven't replaced the ones in the remote. Just too tired, and I have no desire to watch, anyway.

The pheresis is going fairly well, except that every day during the procedure I start to vibrate because of my reduced calcium levels. Today my creatinine was 2.3, which is near normal for me, and my BUN was 24. These numbers are terrific for a kidney that's been through as much as my new one has. I'm trying to be optimistic, but I am also trying to be realistic. Those two things don't go very well together.

On my hematologist's suggestion, I took a sample MCAT exam without studying when I got home this afternoon. I got almost all the medical questions and a lot of the biology questions right, but I blew most of the basic chemistry questions. This doesn't surprise me at all. My name is Koog, and it's been ten years since my last chemistry class.

On the other hand, I really do speak doctor, and I know a lot more about the behavior of bacteria and the human body than I used to. So I guess you could say that the last year hasn't been a complete waste of time.

Oh yeah. I finished reading the Amy Fusselman book, The Pharmacist's Mate. Her prose is beautiful without being stilted, which is good. The book is very, very brief, and I felt like I was reading a well executed writing exercise. The story does not fully come together until the very last page. The reader is not certain that the story is ever going to resolve, which is either frustrating or brilliant. Either way it's just a teensy bit pomo.

She writes in first person narrative, and only occasionally seems to feel sorry for herself. I'm not sure it's possible to complete a work in the first person without poor pitiful me emerging from time to time.

Yeah, um, OK, I liked the book. You should find a copy, buy it and read it so she'll write another one.

Adam reports that the Bob Marley song is called "Three Little Birds."

And that's all I know today.

2001-08-02, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.