. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

We the People

For the first time in a long time, I am fascinated by a political campaign. I wouldn't call myself a Democrat, but I am behind Howard Dean and his campaign.

I hear and see an awful lot of Dean supporters use the same phrase I did here a couple of months ago: It's time to take our country back. Which it is.

They've been running a fundraiser all weekend for actual Americans to contribute as much to the Dean campaign iver a three-day period as 125 "people" will contribute to attend a luncheon with Dick Cheney in South Carolina.

The total raised by the Dean campaign was up around $400,000 the last time I looked, and I think that's pretty cool.

Ordinary Americans participating in politics! It might be too soon to say that the political tide is turning--I would want to see continued interest and participation in politics by ordinary Americans for several consecutive election cycles to believe that--but I don't feel that thr=e outlook is quite as grim as it was a month ago.

07.28.2003, 3:56 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.