. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Feel-Good Shower Curtain

Giant general stores--Big-marts--are the lowest common denominator of American society. I'm serious. I stopped in at one today because there aren't enough washcloths in my house. Sure, I could call Lands' End and order several of the ones that match my towels, but for several reasons I did not.

Namely I don't want to pay $10 to ship washcloths that match, especially when I think the weight of the toweling is too heavy and plush for a washcloth. So I stopped at Big-mart, where I bought a super pack of 18 white washcloths for $5. Never mind that I don't really need 18 washcloths, I have them because 18 for $5 seemed like a better deal than five for $2.88.

Um. That's because it is.

The Big-mart was full of suburban juveniles pushing empty shopping carts around. There weren't very many adults, which makes sense at 10:30 on a Wednesday, and the kids didn't seem to be buying anything, but they all had carts that they were pushing very fast. One of them, a skinny blond girl in denim shorts and a striped tank top, nipped my heels with her cart on the way to the Maybelline display.

She had a killer tan. She apologized for hitting me, but she didn't seem very sorry.

Anyway, since it's virtually impossible to enter a Big-mart and purchase only the one thing you need, I had to browse. I ended up with a shower curtain. A bright orange happy shower curtain with giant happy Gerbera daisies printed on it. The whole thing is just so damned cheerful. A full range of accessories to match the shower curtain were available, but there's only so much happy you can fit into a bathroom. Besides, matchy-matchy isn't my thing. This is the first non-IKEA shower curtain I've had in years, and it cost about twice what the semi-disposable Swedish model would have.

Oh well, mine's brighter, and the old one was getting pretty grubby around the edges. I can justify anything, you know.

So my point was that it doesn't really matter who you are, there's probably something at Big-mart that would come in handy in your life: cheap sunglasses, off-brand soda, a full selection of Pringles, a six-pack of socks, freezer bags. At the checkout stand they have bargain basement DVDs, but they also have little bags of pistachios.

Something for everybody.

07.24.2002, 5:37 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.