. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The Sparrow Siege: Day Three

You heard me. The bird is still up there. Mom actually saw it, but when she went after it with a broom, it got away and managed to stay in the attic.

The first night the bird got all quiet, so she decided that it had expired due tostarvation and/or dehydration, No such luck. It started its hideous squawking again about noon yesterday and continued to emit its noise once about every three seconds. Perhaps I should be grateful that it doesn't "sing" at night... but it's still up there!

The current attempt to solve the bird problem has the door to the bedroom shut and a couple of windows open wide. Although you'd think any bird worth its feathers would take the opportunity to leave that stuffy attic and return outside, where it belongs, but the sparrow seems to be quite well established up there.

I would try setting up a hibachi and setting a small fire to create smoke to possibly inspire the critter to get the hell out, but the more I consider that option, the more I decide that nothing good could possibly come of it.

Mom has fled to Northern Virginia to stay with Fred, whose apartment has the distinct advantage of not being occupied by a bird. I can't say that I blame her.

I'm wondering if an exterminator could help. I mean, it is a pest.

-----

In other news, I went down to the Market for breakfast and stumbled on the sidewalk as I was going. Actually I tripped on a curb. I am so graceful, I swear. I scraped up my right leg and my right hand because I landed on a rather rugged patch.

I'd say that it's shaping up to be a really special day, but breakfast was quite good and the weather is suprisingly temperate, so I'm going to reserve judgment.

07.20.2002, 8:50 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.