. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Take me to your leader

I guess I picked the wrong day to not sit in the air-conditioned comfort of my living room watching C-SPAN. It seems that a sissy fight broke out in the House Ways and Means committee today, and I missed it because I was out trying to get an iced white mocha.

(I got a brown mocha, which isn't what I wanted, but it was OK.)

Anyway, I think it's definitely time to kick the bastards out of Congress. All of them, on both sides of the aisle. I am convinced that with functional, evenly divided Congress it almost doesn't matter who is in the White House.

Tom DeLay, the former exterminator who now represents the 22nd Congressional district of Texas. He's a bully and a thug, and his constituents ought to have the sense to defeat him in the next election, but he would be a lot less dangerous without a clear majority.

Of course, he'd also be a lot less dangerous with some non-Republican in the White House.

Partisan politics disgusts me. There's a link near the bottom of Delay's web site that one could supposedly click in otder to "learn more about the U.S. Constiution." I think that's a great idea, and I think the Congressman from Fort Bent County should be the first to click on it.

I'm looking at the Declaration of Independence, which I try to do from time to time so I don't forget what it says, and I am thinking specifically of the phrase "...to secure these Rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers from the Consent of the Governed, that whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these Ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it...."

So the founding fathers weren't so good with periods.They seem pretty sure on the subject of tyranny, and I know how Capitol Hill smells lately.

Not to quote Al Gore or anything, but "It's Time for Them To Go." Only, you know, not in a way that sounds like a synthesized voice-mail voice.

Seriously. Vote with your voices, your feet and your pocketbooks, and kick the bastards out. All of them.

07.18.2003, 6:00 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.