. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Grumbling

Rescue can be frustrating, especially for a person who is obssessed with process, as I am.

(Not in all things, you understand, just as process applies to an organization. It's compliated.)

Anyway, Thursday night as a holiday weekend I got an e-mail from a person who had donated some money to the Maine Coon Rescue. She was trying to find somebody to help a 16-year-old Maine Coon whose family was going to take him to a shelter because they no longer had time for him.

Since this cat is local, I said I'd help, and I started trying to find a safe place for him. I worked on this all weekend, when I really should have been doing other things. There were even other rescue related things I could have been doing. Well, as it turns out, another one of our people in the area was also working on it, but nobody managed to get that information to me.

I am pretty annoyed about this. I mean, I am very glad the kitty will be safe, except that this particular person mentioned to me that she has never successfully adopted out a foster cat, whereas I've never held on to one. If anybody else knew she was working on this, none of them mentioned it to me.

I wrote a note to the chairwoman of our board to say that I didn't feel great about this situation, and that I probably wouldn't be doing any more direct rescue work because the process is so disorganized.

Anyway, I'm just grousing. I'm off to try to use this case to raise some money for MCR. See, I'm not mad at the rescue, just at the process, and at the person who didn't bother to tell me what was going on.

07.07.2003, 1:03 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.