. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Keeping busy during the nice weather

As the weather has been very nice since Thursday afternoon, I have been spending as much time as possible outside, which would account for my lack of updating here.

Honestly, there is nothing going on in my life right this minute. I have a lot to do, and I'm doing some of it.

I had been waiting on somebody from the transplant center to talk to my trainer, and that finally happened, so I'm going to work out with her tomorrow. I will need as many good luck type wishes as possible, because I really hate exercise for its own sake. I assume this means there's not enough stress in my life.

At least Betsy, the trainer, is not overly cheerful. I couldn't handle that so early in the morning. (Well, 10 isn't that early, but it seems early to be dealing with another human.)

Anyway, since I get very little enjoyment out of the actual exercise, and I have managed to get myself to the point where I can run errands on foot and not be in pain, I will want to start looking better fairly quickly, or I'll probably give up.

What else. I looked at cars by visiting a Honda dealership in the rain. Why doesn't anybody make a cool hybrid that you could use to carry, say, a dresser? I liked the Element because it has stain resistant upholstery and is recommended for people with pets. Sure, I don't put a cat in a motor vehicle unless it is secured in a carrier, but I like the idea of a car designed for people who sometimes have animals with them.

However, the Element gets lousy gas milage, 21/24, and I get that in the Saturn. The Civic hybrid gets almost 50 mpg, but on the other hand, it's still a Civic.

I guess I should be asking myself how much cuteness I require in a car. All the hybrids are kind of boring, except the Honda Insight, which they didn't have on the lot. It is very small, though.

The other thing I've been working on is fundraisers for the Maine Coon Rescue, which is the group I work with. There is actually one all of you can help with!

Collect all the old, useless cell phones that you have laying around the house. Ask all your neighbors and co-workers to do the same, and if you collect enough of them and tell me about it, I will send you a mailing label for you to send them in. (If it's just one or two phones, you may as well send them to me. I can also give you the info to do that.)

MCR gets a donation for every used phone we collect.

Which reminds me that i have a press release to write.

06.29.2003, 10:00 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.