. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

This calls for expensive tests!

I'm back home.

I don't know whether I can really say that I feel better, but if nothing else I feel bad in a different way. The short version is that yes, I was having a rejection. This was my first. I learned that one's body temperature should not rise when the temperature outside rises, even though I saw a correlation. I learned that I really ought to call the next time my body temperature stays above 99.5 F for a week.

Well, I probably knew that already.

I believe I had every test modern medicine has to offer a transplanted kidney. By far, the worst one was the MRI. If anybody ever suggests that you need an MRI, run. Run far away. Mine was like being in a weird science fiction movie from the early 70s.

Basically they laid me out on a slab, hooked tubes around me to monitor my breathing, secured my legs and arms, plugged my ears and slid me into a tube with fluorescent lights and a draft. After a few minutes, a disembodied voice told me when to breathe and when not to breathe.

Then they shot contrast stuff into my I.V.

The vein in my right wrist still aches.

All this was to get a good look at the blood vessels and arteries around the new kidney. I could go a long time before my next MRI and be very happy about it.

I spent most of the weekend not answering the phone because I was in fairly terrible pain. I can really see where people get addicted to prescription pain killers. I mean, they take away the pain and it is hard to describe the sense of relief you get when the meds kick in.

In any event, I'm back on weekly visits to the transplant clinic. I have no idea how much time will pass before I'm allowed to go back to work. I guess it doesn't really matter, but I had it in my head that I would be going back soon, and now that's not going to happen.

Oh well, more time with the girls.

2001-06-25, Evening. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.