. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

It's for you!

Hey look! Verizon finally pulled its head out of the ground and realized that it is probably not going to beat the FCC on the issue of phone number portability.

I, for one, could not be happier. The article I linked mentions that customers switching carriers costs the carriers quite a lot. Fine. I have a question for those carriers. Why is it that you do nothing to try and retain your customers. Isn't it cheaper to keep the customers you already have than it is to get new ones?

I'm so sick of seeing deals on new phones, new service packages, and so forth and so on only to find that they are for "new subscribers only." I've stayed with the same cellular provider for five years because I wanted to keep the same number, and getting anything from Sprint is like pulling teeth.

I am a good customer. I pay my bill on time, every month, and I never use all my minutes. I don't ask for much from my carrier except a reliable signal, which I've been able to get from Sprint. But I tell you, I feel used and neglected when I see those shiny, pretty ads that feature the things new subscribers can get at a much better price than is available to me, an existing customer.

I hope that the fact that I can go someplace else and keep my number will make the wireless carriers out there sit up and respect their existing customers.

That's all.

06.25.2003, 3:15 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.