. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Things that puzzle me

Apparently smarts aren't necessary to be elected mayor of a large American city. I'm not surprised, it's just that every time I get that information reconfirmed, I just wonder about people.

I was watching CNN, which I do from time to time, and the mayor of Las Vegas starts in with the "terrorists have already won" rhetoric again. Apparently there's been some kind of terrorist threat against Sin City. Is there some kind of secret mayor's manual issued by the White House so they can all be on the same page about this whole terrorism thing?

I'm just askin'.

-----

I learned who provided my phone number to my ex, because she fessed up. It seems that she didn't think I'd mind. I'm just shaking my head and feeling annoyed. The past is past, I am happy when it stays that way. It's not as if she gave my number to somebody I'd simply lost contact with; I actively broke off the relationship, and I never made any attempt to communicate with my ex after we that happened. And although I was polite when he made attempts to get in touch (because I do that), I never could figure out why.

I think part of the dread is the knowledge that the last time I saw him, a couple of months after we broke up, he was maudlin and there was very little to talk about. It's truly embarrassing to be confronted with the fact that I was prepared to marry a man with whom I had no common interests. In my thinking about that relationship since it ended, I realize that any marriage that took place from it would have already ended in divorce.

So, anyway, if anybody ever asks you for somebody else's phone number, think twice before you provide it. That's my advice.

06.21.2002, 5:28 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.